11 Aug 2016
Big increase in Argentinian Global Compact cities and regions

Within the last two months the Cities Programme has been delighted to welcome six new Argentinian Global Compact city participants.

The Province of Tierra del Fuego, Antártida e Islas del Atlántico Sur and Sante Fe; and Municipalities of Carnerillo, Quilmes, Yerba Buena and Concepcion recently made the commitment to the Ten Principles of the United Nations Global Compact.

They join the Pueblo Esther and the Municipalities of San Isidro, Tigre and Rosario bringing the total of Global Compact city participants in Argentina to eight.

Argentina’s UN Global Compact Network Focal Point, Flavio Fuertes, is also very pleased with this increase in municipal and provisional participation in the Compact and spoke of their leadership. Quilmes’ government has created a Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Agency. Yerba Buena—a small local government with 30,000 inhabitants—is starting to promote CSR activity among local companies to address the significant challenges around poverty in the region.

We are also excited to have Tierra del Fuego, Antártida e Islas del Atlántico Sur on board and to have the opportunity to learn about life for the communities who live in the urban centres of Argentina’s most southern regions. This unique world region incorporates the Patagonia region, the Antilles South and the section of the Antarctic continent called Antarctica Argentina. This province includes the urban centres of Ushuaia, Rio Grande, Tolhuin, and Puerto Argentino/Stanley – the main population centre of Islas Malvinas. The area has a rich indigenous heritage and cultural life and well as stunning natural environment.

We look forward to soon sharing news about the plans, projects and priorities of these four new Argentinian city participants. Bienvenido todos!